Stewart Watson, Executive Director

Stewart Watson received her BFA in sculpture from the Pennsylvania State University and her MFA from The University of Maryland. She has received individual artist grants from the Maryland State Arts Council in 2011, 2007, and 2001, two 2016 individual artist grants from the Baltimore Office of Promotion and the Arts, a 2016 grant from the Alexandria Office of Arts, Alexandria, VA, and is the winner of the 2010 Sadat Art for Peace Prize. Recent exhibitions include the 2014 Janet & Walter Sondheim Prize Finalists at The Walters Art Museum, Marian Boesky Gallery, (New York, NY), UNCP A.D. Gallery, (Pembroke, NC), and solo exhibitions at The Contemporary, (Baltimore, MD) and McDaniel College, (Westminster, MD), artist panels at the Kreeger Museum and The Baltimore Museum of Art and a residency at the Digital Fabrication Residency (Easton, MD). She teaches professional practices at The Maryland Institute College of Art. 

Her work has been featured in publications including the inaugural print magazine BmoreArt a Journal of Art + Ideas (2015), OutPost Journal (2012), Baltimore Magazine (October 2016),Baltimore Citypaper, The Washington Post, The Baltimore Sun,  ArtFCity, BmoreArt, HaHa Magazine, and more.

Watson is an artist, a parent, a partner, a curator, an educator, a volunteer, and community advocate, serving on several regional boards and organizations. She co-founded AREA 405 in 2003 and is the Executive Director. She is co-owner, founder, and president of Oliver Street Studios, established in 2002, a 66,000 square foot warehouse in the heart of Baltimore City. Oliver Street Studios has grown from a vacant building into an artistic and community anchor for the Station North Arts & Entertainment District.

SPECIAL THANKS to the following folks who have rolled up their sleeves and pitched in to make AREA 405 the happening place that it is! 

Michelle Avary, Jeramie Bellmay,  Michael Stephens,  Jim Vose, Lena Leone, Jeff Leone,   Ashely DeHoyos,   Abigail Parrish, Antoine Blanton,   Breon Gilleran,   Dana Harris,   Dana Johns,   David Page, Lauren Schott,   Ben Stone,   Kimi Hanauer,   Hannah Leighton,   Anna Menendez,   Jennifer Minke, Monika Graves,  David London,   Shea Frederick,    Sarah Doherty,   John Shea,   Julia Pearson,   Karen Feliz,   Olivia Obineme, Deana Haggag, Karen Mattingly,    Karen Houppert,   Kim Farmer, Kym Posillico, Arman Mizani, Chris Lavoie,   Marc Berrong,   Mark Mordhorst,   Piper Watson,   Reed Monson,   Satchel Mordhorst,   Steve Freel, Jason Hoylman,   Tom McManus,   Ginevra Shay,  Tyler Farinholt,   Dale Hargrave, Dwight Hargrave,  Tim Horjus,   Pulman Vose,   Quinn Minke .

and so many, many more.....